My First Giveaway! “Masseria the Italian Farmhouse of Puglia”… a Beautiful Book Waiting for You!!!

THIS COULD BE YOURS!!!

I am thrilled to announce my very first giveaway!!!

Last month, I posted “A cultural evening at the Embassy of Italy in Washington DC”, an event to celebrate the publication of  the book  “Masseria – The Italian Farmhouse of Puglia“, published by Rizzoli.

At the end of that evening, I purchased a copy of the book and I have enjoyed it very much since. Not to mention that it looks great on my Italian marble credenza!

The book is full of stunning pictures by Mark Roskam – Miami-based photographer who specializes in architecture and interior design – and it is introduced by Diane Lewis – professor of design at Cooper Union’s Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture – who also provides a short description of each Masseria.

The Italian region of Puglia, on the Southeast coast,  is known as the “tacco d’Italia” , the “heel of Italy”, and “the masseria building is one element among the roads, wells, towers, walls, courtyards, and gates that collectively, comprise a refined architectural landscape across Puglia” (excerpt from book).  As I mentioned in my previous post, the masseria is a sort of fortified farmhouse and they are are mostly located along the Via Appia (Appian Way) – the ancient Roman road.

This is indeed a beautiful coffee table book, but it is more than that; it transports you into beautiful landscapes of vineyards and olive groves, takes you back in time in the Magna Grecia and the Roman Empire, and mostly, makes you wish you were there!

I love the book so much that I thought it would be awesome if I could share it with one of my faithful followers and lovers of Italy.

During the evening at the Embassy of Italy I met signora Cristina Rizzo, book’s project director, she seemed charming and kind yet I was hesitant to contact her. Finally, few weeks ago, I plucked up my courage and contacted signora Rizzo, I shared my idea of a giveaway, and asked her to donate one copy of the book for that purpose. Signora Rizzo, without hesitation, kindly agreed to donate the book and I am excited to say that I have just received the precious copy, which is now sitting right here next to me, waiting for a new home . . . it could be yours!

Would you like to be the lucky winner?

Here’s how to enter the contest:

REQUIRED ENTRIES

  1. Follow Sharing My Italy . . . The Blog by clicking on the “Join Me” icon on the homepage of this blog and enter your e-mail address to receive regular updates
  2. Leave a comment to this post and share if you have ever been to the Italian region of Puglia and/or visited a Masseria.

BONUS ENTRIES:

  1. Follow Sharing My Italy  on TWITTER and tweet this giveaway  – comment saying you did or already follow.
  2. Follow ME on PINTEREST & comment saying you did or already follow.
  3. “Like” Sharing My Italy on FACEBOOK – comment saying you did or already follow.
  4. “Share” this giveaway on FACEBOOK
  5. Follow Rizzoli book on TWITTER and tweet this giveaway – comment saying you did or already follow

Remember to leave a comment below each time you’ve done one of the above (= up to 5 comments = up to 5 bonus entries)

DETAILS:

  • This giveaway will remain open until July 21 at 11:59 p.m. EST.
  • One  winner will be selected randomly and will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to claim their prize.
  • This contest is open to US residents only, my apologies to my international friends!
  • I need to be able to contact you, should you be the lucky winner, so please be sure you provide your e-mail or I will need to choose another winner.

Good Luck to Everyone!!

Grazie Mille Signora Rizzo for donating the book!

If you are not the lucky one to receive the free copy of the book, you can order your copy here.

In a meanwhile enjoy few more pictures from the book.

FTC Disclosure

I have not received any compensation for posting this content and I have no material connection to the brands, topics and/or products that are mentioned herein.  I have purchased my own copy of the book and reviewed it. Mrs. Cristina Rizzo – book’s project director – has donated the book for this giveaway. I will personally pay for the book’s shipment to the contest’s winner.  My opinions are 100% my own.

Related post : A cultural evening at the Embassy of Italy, Washington DC

21 comments on “My First Giveaway! “Masseria the Italian Farmhouse of Puglia”… a Beautiful Book Waiting for You!!!

  1. Debra Lupis says:

    The book looks really beautiful. Have not been to the Puglia area, but it is added to my bucket list for sure!! 🙂 Also retweeted the give-away info!!

  2. carlrscott says:

    I follow Rizzoli book on Twitter (@carlrscott) and I tweeted the giveaway: https://twitter.com/carlrscott/status/226791229235527680

  3. carlrscott says:

    I Shared this giveaway on FACEBOOK: Carl Scott

  4. carlrscott says:

    I liked Sharing My Italy on FACEBOOK: Carl Scott

  5. carlrscott says:

    I am now following on Twitter (@carlrscott) and I tweeted a link to this blog post: https://twitter.com/carlrscott/status/226791229235527680

  6. carlrscott says:

    I have never been to the Puglia region or visited a Masseria but now I feel I must. Our next international trip will be to Italy

  7. carlrscott says:

    What a tremendously beautiful book. I am now following your blog posts by email: carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

  8. Norma Falcone says:

    I have never been to Italy but I feel as though I have been, being married to an Italian and having many Italian friends.
    The pictures in the book lovely. I hope I get to see them close up when the book is in my hands.
    Love your blog.

  9. Maggie says:

    Anxious to see how the farmhouses of Puglia compare to the farmhouses of northern Sardinia!

  10. Bill Fehlinger says:

    MariaGiovanna: I have been a follower of your blog since early this year when a Neapolitan woman living in the United States recommended it to me. She produces the most marvelous Italian cuisine, especially her wonderful dolce!

    I have made 5 separate trips to Italy but never to the region of Puglia. However, recently I have seen some wonderful pictures of the area and the simple beauty of the countryside, the houses, and the vistas enchanted me.

    My wife and I plan another trip in 2013. Our itinerary is fluid, we plan to visit areas of the country that we have not yet seen, and Puglia is now on our list. It would be wonderful to receive the copy of this book. It will certainly add to the excitement of our upcoming trip and motivate me to do better in my Italian language lessons.

    Thank you for the hard work you do in the blog and the time and effort to make your recipes so attractive.

  11. This looks like a great book! I just finished reading all about Puglia as a food and wine region and am highly anticipating a visit here one day.

  12. megtraveling says:

    Hi! I haven’t been to that region of Italy (yet), but it looks like a beautiful place to visit! And I follow your blog, also FB and Pinterest🙂 The book looks wonderful!

  13. I registered my email for your posts daily and am following your blog as well This looks like a wonderful book

    • Thank you Rosemary, the book has such amazing pictures, you would love it!
      Btw I have tried to leave few comments on your blog but I am not sure they worked.

  14. joseph Murru says:

    ….I luv books, especially when the’re givaways😀 nice idea for spreading the word around ciao Joe

    • Remember, you MUST register your email and follow the blog if you want to have a chance to win…just click the “join me” icon on the right column of the home page. Good luck!

  15. How lovely! I have not been to the Puglia region. I have traveled to Rome and up to Venice via train. And I have to say, it was all beautiful and inspiring.

  16. How exciting! I sure hope the winner is…..Me!🙂

Would you share your thoughts?

